What's new

Should I be concerned about liver damage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crimson

I am fairly new to kava. I began drinking kava once a week a few months ago at a kava bar but recently decided to purchase a bag of kava for my boyfriend as a gift, and we drink it almost everyday together. We really enjoy the way it makes us feel. My only concern is the fact that on the bag, it says not to consume more than the recommended daily dosage (I believe it says one serving is 3 tbs of the dried kava) on any given day, and to take a two week break from kava altogether if you consume it everyday for more than three months or liver damage can occur. My boyfriend and I are both recovering alcoholics, but even if we weren’t, I don’t want to cause any harm to my liver. Should I be worried? Thank you,

sɥɐʞɐs

Avg. Dosage: 8 Tbsp. (58g)
Review Maestro
Generally Recognized as Safe.
The 'liver scare' is old, outdated and has basically been completely overturned and refuted at this point. But, everyone's different, certain circumstances/variables can change things and nothing is safe 100% of the time for 100% of the people.
This question comes up frequently...this thread is a good start:
http://kavaforums.com/forum/threads/blood-work-liver-panel-lab-results.13411/

Last edited:

Zaphod

Kava Lover