What's new

Any evidence for ototoxicity?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi friends,

This is my first post to this wonderful forum, I've been groggin' for I guess about a year now +/- (so far exclusively GHK) and recently have seen a couple websites claiming kava can cause "partial hearing loss." A pharmacist buddy of mine (who initially introduced me to kava) reassures me ototoxicity is unlikely in kava (he stops there and has never given me an explanation as to why he believes that...), and I've never seen it brought up by daily users on any forums, but I'm a career musician and sound engineer and am very protective of my hearing. One thing I have seen mentioned (and experienced first-hand) is the infamous ringing in the ears caused by kava—this is an indicator to me that kava is doing at least something to the ears.

Anyone know of any research that points either way or are there any long-term/daily users who can share experience?

Thanks a lot!

verticity

I'm interested in things
I have never heard that claim before.
Now, if you drink a lot of kava it can temporarily make you dizzy and off balance. Also, as you mention, sometimes it can cause ringing in the ears. But these are acute effects that wear off quickly when the kava leaves your system. I have never seen, or heard of, any evidence that kava can permanently harm your ears.
Maybe if you link to the web sites you are referring to, we can take a look and try to figure out what the claims are based on.

Thanks!

And here are some links I saw:

This one covers a lot and contains a lot of info, but lacks sources:
http://mentalhealthdaily.com/2016/01/17/kava-side-effects-adverse-reactions-list/

This one has a list of sources, but doesn't cite specific claims within the article:
http://umm.edu/health/medical/altmed/herb/kava-kava

Lists partial hearing loss as a possible side effect and seems to have a citation (?)
https://books.google.com/books?id=2...AEITTAH#v=onepage&q=kava hearing loss&f=false