What's new

Does preparing kava in this way make a difference?

P

Psilopsyche

Im kinda new to kava so forgive me if this is a silly question. But I've heard that as kavalactones are not water soluable but are fat soluable, that using something like coconut milk makes for a more potent drink. Is there any truth to that? Also if it does make for a more potent drink (which I observed it does but I would like some feedback from other people) would it possibly extract more Flavokawain B thus creating more of a hepatotoxic effect? Right now I only use about 2 heaping tbsp. to about a teacups worth of coconut milk and it works perfect. And I drink maybe 3 shells of that a day.

p.s. that's with nambawan from bkh which to my knowledge is all noble.

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
You'll hear varying reports depending on who you ask. I, personally, do not feel that it makes much if any difference really. To me it's not worth increasing the viscosity of something that's difficult to drink already. While it is true that kavalactones are not water soluble, they do suspend in water readily when you make kava traditionally. I say no, but there are people who swear by it. I swear by a warm water soak and knead process. It makes sense that a lipid would become more fluid with higher temps so I've always used hot water.

Also, seeing as you're using a noble kava as your starting powder, I believe from what I've been hearing that you would have no problems extracting Flavokawain B. According to recent reports noble kavas do not contain any.

D

Deleted User01