What's new

Got a few questions

AmberLynn

Kava Curious
I'm pretty new to kava and wanting to know 2 things;

first.. what is a good kava to make me uppidy/relaxed yet talkative.. a non sleepy kinds?

Also, how much should I put in? I've been doing 3-4 tablespoons kava with 2 1/2 cups water and I'm just getting very mild effects...How much does one typically consume in a session?

Edward

Aluballin' in the UK
Kava Vendor
Two that stand out are Pouni Ono from Kalm with Kava and M'oi from Gourmet Hawaiian Kava. I'm sure there are lots of others but I'm not so into heady kavas so I don't know much more than that. I'm sure plenty of others will chip in here.

3 to 4 tbsps in that much water sounds like a reasonable quantity (I'm assuming you're talking about medium grind here not micronised?). How are you preparing it though? It could be your prep is not as efficient as it could be. Also there is just the possibility that you are a "hardhead" and might need more than that to get a really good effect. I would check your prep method first for which I recommend a blender and then strain and then maybe try adjusting your amount up.

WaltonGroggins

a.k.a. "Kount Grogula"
GHK's Kumakua and KWK's Melomelo both make me more social/talkative.

I've recently settled on 5Tbsp to 4C cool water. I do my second wash with 2C and then combine it with the first in a half-gallon jar.
I do my third wash the following day with frozen makas and 3C hot water; I combine this with whatever grog is left in the jar from the day before.

AmberLynn

Kava Curious
Well, the problem is I'm a pretty heavy drinker. I'm trying to replace alcohol with kava. I'm guessing that's why I'm not getting the effects I want? I'm not sure.

I've tried 3 different kinds, Borongoru, Borogu and Pouni Ono so I'm still kind of confused which would be the best to replace alcohol since I've only had mild effects from them all

kavagirl37

Kava Curious