What's new

Headaches?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all!

I am brand new to Kava and just recently received my first powdered kava from Kalm with Kava. I got the Borogu variety and tried it for the first time on Friday when I got it in the mail. First of all, this stuff is NASTY. The taste has almost made me feel like I’m not so sure I am going to be able to stick it out through the reverse tolerance thing because even trying the trick of having a chaser (I had unsweetened vanilla almond milk on hand and used that) and chugging it without breathing through my nose and not breathing through my nose until I’ve chased it, still....OMG GROSS!! I haven’t really felt anything amazing from it yet and I was prepared going into this knowing that it’s possible and I am definitely not one of the lucky ones where they felt their omg moment in their drink. The only thing I think I noticed was feeling a little sleepy a few hours after I had my last drink. Oh and the numbing of my tongue.

The question I have is this...is it possible that the kava drink can cause headaches? It’s really impossible for me to tell if the fact that my migraine that started Friday BEFORE I drank my first preparation of kava just hasn’t gone away yet or if the headache I am currently experiencing is a side effect of the kava. I have chronic migraines so it’s really difficult to say but since I’m still having a headache even after taking my abortive med made me kinda wonder if the kava that I’ve had each night since has just prolonged it.

I take zomig as my abortive med and I’ve read somewhere that it can interact with kava. Does anyone else take Zomig and what have your experiences been if you’ve taken it on a day you’ve also had kava?