What's new

Hello All!

Hello, just joined the forum and thought I'd post a little introduction. I am new to the world of kava and am very much looking forward to drinking and learning more about it! I was first introduced to kava via Yogi brand kava tea. I had heard of kava while trying to find cures for my insomnia/mild anxiety (which tends to come out right at bedtime!). I just recently ordered the Bula Kava House sample pack and instant powder. So far I have tried Melo Melo and the instant, and of the two I preferred the Melo Melo.

The way I prepared it I put two tablespoons of the ground root in two cups of water and let it sit for an hour. I then stirred and strained it through one of their Fijian strainer bags. I am thinking of trying it with coconut water at some point as well. I did not love the flavor, but it wasn't too bad.

The instant flavor wasn't so bad, I mixed it in a glass of chai and soy milk, and it made my mouth numb quite quickly. It felt like a bit of a head rush compared to the other, it seemed to hit fast! With that though I also had some mild nausea/ indigestion which I think could be from having eaten too recently.

Neither really helped my insomnia. Right now I think it could be my reliance on benadryl which I am trying to let off of. I have in the past also used valerian, melatonin, tryptophan, unisom, and basically any OTC you could imagine. I do NOT like ambien so I won't use anything like that.

I am also utilizing kava in hopes that it could replace alcohol as my after work unwinding drink. If a safe and healthy alternative can be found in kava for me I'd be thrilled!

Anyway sorry for the rambling, looking forward to getting to know everyone and reading more about kava!

CanAwa

1 kava 2 kava 3 kava COUCH
Hey