What's new

Help with sourcing kava in Australia

GoWest86

Kava Curious
Hi guys, I'm new to kava and to this forum. So far I have found one good source of fijian noble kava in Australia. It's the Yalu cultivar. Very nice balanced effects with just enough headiness to put me in a good place. I got it from an islander who lives down the road from me.

However, I'm trying to find other sources so I can get some different strains. Unfortunately, Australia's drug laws are very backwards and, frankly, quite stupid. It's technically not legal to import kava to Australia but it's legal to buy it from a supplier in Australia.

Basically, I have two questions:

1) Does anyone know where I can find other good sources of noble kava in Australia?

2) I have noticed that both KWK and GHK have options on their web stores to have kava sent to Australia (the only two vendors that even give you the option). Does anyone know what the real world likelihood is of getting into trouble with the Aussie government if I was to get small amounts of kava sent to my place in Australia from these vendors? If it was a small amount, would they just turn a blind eye? Has anyone in Australia tried this?

Cheers,
Andre

sɥɐʞɐs

Avg. Dosage: 8 Tbsp. (58g)
Review Maestro
Finding your local Polynesians or Tongan church group is always a good start for sources. Last I heard, you can also bring 2 kilos into the country if you fly. So, if you live in east Australia, you could try to find cheap flights somewhere close like NZ, Vanuatu or Fiji and return with kava. Ask family and friends to bring some back for ya if they go on a trip too.

Last edited:

kastom_lif

Kava Lover
Unfortunately, buying kava is banned. People can bring up to 2 kg into Oz per trip, for personal use.

I'm not sure about growing kava, especially considering Australia's strict biosecurity. In theory it should grow alright in the sugarcane region of QLD.

GoWest86

Kava Curious
Hi Andre,