What's new

How long can you drink Kava for?

Bark Funklerbunk

Kava Curious
Hi, I'm a newbie to the Kava world, more specifically root powder. I've found this forum very informative thus far and glad to have joined this community. I have found contradictions, misinformation out there regarding Kava (like there is with anything on the net). From what I gather the liver damage is a myth, or gathered from skewed "studies".

My question is how long can I keep drinking Kava? I have read no longer than 4 weeks straight. Is there any fact to this? What are your Kava regimens? Can I safely and responsibly use this healing plant regularly indefinitely? Or do I have to stop at 4 weeks? and if that is indeed true, how long before I can start again? I couldn't find a clear answer anywhere, and I'm guessing this 4 weeks thing has to do with so called liver damage.

kavamehameha

Magnum's 'awa drinking bird
First of all, there is no definitely reported case of liver damage caused by consumption of kava. Period.
Secondly, you can keep on kava drinking as long as you wish. There are no regulations in any sense; you can stop and start again whenever you want, or drink forever. If I remember correctly, @verticity is at 3 years and counting. :wacky: You may want to take a little break for a few days, either because you don't want to drink sometimes (that's how I do it), or because you experience some "side effects" such as mild nausea or dermopathy (which doesn't occur if you drink kava in moderate amounts).

By the way: Be careful if you take some kind of medication, as this may interfere with kava. Better consult your doctor in this case.

D

Deleted User01