What's new

Introducing myself

Sadie

Kava Enthusiast
Hi, I've had lots of support and wisdom already but another member suggested I introduce myself.

I'm Irish, live in Winchester in the UK - Jane Austen country, beautiful. I'm a therapist and work both privately and agency. I haven't had alcohol or illegal drugs for 18 years. I was in a serious car accident 6 years ago and as a result became addicted to pretty high grade painkillers and valium. Have been looking for something less 'chemical and liver damaging' and managed to taper off myself then found K@ about 2 months ago. I couldn't take to it and didn't like that it was addictive, it did help with pain/insomnia but I just didn't want to swap one addiction for another. Then I found Kava. I'm still very new to it. So my experience with it has been a bit hit and miss. Seem to get a headache with it but learned on here to really go for the water which I have and that's helped. I hope to use in moderation, I started off with Yogi tea bags and still take them sometime but am now on to powdered root....I like it so far.

From my research I read that Kava is non addictive which is why I am exploring it....but I've read on forums that people get addicted....is that true? I guess everything in moderation.

Anyway thanks for all the helpful info so far - I really do appreciate everyone who has taken time out to answer my questions. Thanks

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
Cessation of kava causes no physical withdrawal symptoms.
Can confirm. I'm just now getting over the stomach flu (good god, talk about agony) and haven't consumed kava in 48 hours and I'm 100% fine (minus the awful sickness). I've been drinking kava daily for almost a decade.

D

Deleted User01