What's new

Is it just me? Why didn't Kalm work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GiltCity

I am a kava newbie. Kalm was my first experience with it. I have read about reverse tolerance but didn't think that would mean my first Kalm with Kava would have zero effects.

Is there a chance that the drink was simply inactive or expired? I am not taking any medication that might interfere. I am not a large man, 170 lbs, so I am puzzled why I experienced virtually nothing other than the sweet taste.

GC

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
You are exactly right in your assumption. Reverse tolerance plays a major role in kava effects for many people. Some are lucky, some aren't. I was one of the no so lucky ones and had to endure kava with no kava effects for a little while. Do yourself a favor and buy a strainer and some kava powder and make yourself a few glasses of full strength kava first. Once you've broken through your reverse tolerance there's no way a kalm with kava would be without effect.

We feel like the RT stage of kava is both a blessing and a curse. It can deter many, but it also can deter those looking for a quick fix. Keep at it. You won't be disappointed.

Edit: I've never had an inactive bottle. In fact they've been very predictable. I can predict with 100% accuracy that within 30 minutes of consumption I will be snoring on the couch.

sɥɐʞɐs

Avg. Dosage: 8 Tbsp. (58g)
Review Maestro
empty stomach, chug at least half the bottle.
otherwise it's the RT.
I found the stuff to be noticeable quite quickly, but not completely identical to a full kava root experience.
I want one right now :coffee:

Kalm with Kava

Kava Vendor
Hi Giltcity