What's new

Is Kava Recreational?

tribal1209

Kava Enthusiast
I understand in its native lands folks use it as a "Social lubricant" if you will, but is this stuff actually recreational? I ask because im not sure it actually is. Alcohol seems to beat Kava by a long shot as far as bliss and mind numbing fun goes. Kava is unique but it leaves ones mind pretty much untouched. Dont get me wrong it can definitely mess you up if one takes enough of it, but without the mental aspect how recreational is this substance? Just a thought.

D

Deleted User01

I have lots of experience with alcohol. A couple of problems: Yes, the first few drinks feel really good, but when you loose inhibitions, you run the risk of saying bad things (this I know and this I sometimes do). Second, alcohol gives me a restless sleep not a sound sleep like kava. Third, the calories in alcohol are not helpful. Fourth, when I drink alcohol, I pass out on the couch after supper with the audiobook running. With Kava, I can relax without passing out and go to bed at my regular time. I get to enjoy my audiobook in a very relaxed state of mind. All this being said, I still do alcohol twice a week and Kava the rest. I'm constantly comparing them and alcohol just has more undesireable side effects. I will give this alcohol, it tastes waaayyyy better than kava. And you can't beat a a glass of red wine with a steak or an ice cold IPA or Pilsner after mowing the lawn. But it's hard for me to just drink one.
But compare the two for yourself. Everyone reacts differently to both.

Kojo Douglas

The Kavasseur
True, nothing beats the flavor of a good beer or wine.

As for the initial question, I'm going to grab my popcorn and look forward to the responses here. My 15+ year relationship with Kava has bounced between medicinal, ritual, and recreational. It's unlike anything else in my life, really.

tribal1209

Kava Enthusiast