What's new

Kava booze

Buddhacide

Kava Enthusiast
Putting aside any puritanical biases against alcohol for a moment, and ignoring any potential health concerns, might one create, perhaps, some sort of "kava gin" or kava vodka" ? I have a friend whose stepfather makes all sorts of home made booze. He has this amazing vodka he makes by steeping very hot peppers in it. Its amazing. It has me thinking, would it be possible to extract lactones into some sort of every-day alcohol (Ie not isopropyl) for some sort of booze-kava drink?

I know many of you are gasping in horror right now, but I'd be interested to learning whether its possible. Would fat soluble lactones extract into normal vodka or gin? Would maybe using a "creme" like Khalua make any difference. Love to hear peoples thoughts.

Last edited:
D

Deleted User01

Buddacide, I homebrew beer and I have been doing it for several years. The concept is the same for vodka. Here is a primer. You soak grains/potatoes/barley/corn in hot water and it extracts the sugars. The liquid with sugar is called Wort. You drain and strain the liquid into a fermenter. You dump yeast (there are hundreds of types for different recipes) into the Wort. The yeast eats the sugar and outputs alcohol. The fermenting process can take 1 to 5 weeks. You can dump add on ingredients during fermentation or even afterwards.

First problem. You have to BOIL THE WORT.

Second Problem. How do you extract the Kavalactones into your Wort? Maybe dump your Kava Tea into the Wort (after boiling). Just like we dump Cocoa Nibs into the Stout to get a chocolate stout.