What's new

New and cluless.

S

STPOW22

Hello. How are you? I am very new to Kava. Never tried it and only heard of it today. I have been recently diagnosed with general anxiety disorder. I have research a little about Kava and wondered it it was an option for me. I am looking for relief (or, reduction) from anxiety and help sleep.

What do you recommend? Brand? Preparation? Dose? Frequency? Safety?

I would appreciate any and all advice. I don't expect a miracle or overnight success. I just was wondering if Kava could help with my symptoms and how I should go about trying.

Thank you.

Steve

kavadude

❦ॐ tanuki tamer
Yes, many members have found kava helps with their anxiety issues.

It's important to get good quality kava and prepare it correctly. Dry root powder is much less expensive than instant and extract products. Any of the vendors active on the forums here will sell you quality kava (Bula Kava House, Paradise Kava, Noble Kava, Kava Candy), although there are many other vendors around. You could do a lot worse than to order the sampler and a fijian strainer from Bula Kava House.

Dose, frequency, that's something you will have to figure out yourself I'm afraid. Kava becomes more effective with frequent use though.

Safety? Worst thing most of us have to contend with is (reversible) lizard skin from drinking too much kava. It's been used safely for thousands of years in the Pacific. Don't mix it with alcohol, tylenol or other hepatotoxic substances and remember there is no substitute for good judgment.

Vekta

Notorious Lightweight
Review Maestro
I am one of those that uses kava for anxiety. I don't have the same type of anxiety you do so take anything I say with a grain of salt.

The sampler from Bula Kava House would be a very nice start. You'll get a taste of a wide variety of kava of various strengths and chemotypes. What is great for me may be meh for you.