What's new

New to Kava Kava and need help please

jetsman21

Kava Curious
Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to using Kava Kava and could use some advice. I'll start by telling you that I have general anxiety disorder and have been taking Zoloft for the last two years. I also have a prescription for Xanax. The reason I have started taking Kava Kava is because I have found that I have been relying on Xanax a lot more lately than I'd like to and have built up a tolerance and am scared of becoming addicted if I keep taking them. Initially I would take 1mg of Xanax a day and as of last week I needed 2.5mg just to get through my anxiety attacks- not good! I decided yesterday to stop using Xanax altogether so I don't become fully dependent.
Yesterday I did some research into herbal anxiety remedies and found Kava Kava. I went to the Vitamin Shoppe and bought a bottle of Gaia Kava Kava root pills (60 count). I chose these because the reviews on Amazon were very good.
These pills say they have 442mg of Kava root extract and 75mg of Kavalactones. My questions is how many should I take to start seeing a decrease in my anxiety. I read online that some people need to take as many as 8-10 pills per day for it to work in pill form but the bottle says to only take 1 capsule. Please keep in mind, i'm not trying to get high or anything- I just want to take the right amount to quiet my anxiety and not need Xanax anymore. BTW- yesterday I took 4 capsules total (2 at lunch and 2 at dinner) and didn't notice any effect at all.
Any advice or assistance is appreciated. Thank you!

jetsman21

Kava Curious
Also- can you overdose on Kava? One of the Amazon reviews I read said the person takes 8-12 pills per day (which is like 750+ MG of kavalactones). I just want to be safe......

NAMBATU

Kava Enthusiast