What's new

Noob here - just saying hi

Teamfour

Kava Curious
Glad I found this forum. Lots of good info here. I have a small tin of instant green on the way from BKH. I quit drinking over ten years ago. I am looking for something to take the edge off stressful days and to hopefully eliminate the anti-anxiety med I am on.

A couple of concerns: first I am not clear on the reverse tolerance issue. How long should I try to break through this level before I give up on kava? Second, seeing as I may have a propensity to addictive behavior, I don't want to slip into a point where I feel I must drink kava every day.

I look forward to the expert comments on either of these concerns.

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
A couple of concerns: first I am not clear on the reverse tolerance issue. How long should I try to break through this level before I give up on kava? Second, seeing as I may have a propensity to addictive behavior, I don't want to slip into a point where I feel I must drink kava every day.
First off, welcome!

Second, to answer your questions;

I am not clear on the reverse tolerance issue. How long should I try to break through this level before I give up on kava?
Reverse tolerance affects a good number of people at first. Some lucky people feel kava's full effects the very first time, but it's rare. It took me about 3 weeks of taking kava pills from gaia herbs (I wouldn't recommend this route, as it's stupid expensive) before I began to really feel effects from them. If you start off with instant you'll probably feel it sooner due to the large amount of kavalactones you're packing in. (Pro-tip: drink it on an empty stomach) So a solid answer on time frame is anywhere from instantly to 1 month before kava is truly kava. Don't give up. It's worth it.

Second, seeing as I may have a propensity to addictive behavior, I don't want to slip into a point where I feel I must drink kava every day.