What's new

Perplexed by Tudei Controversy

Delicate Drunk

Kava Curious
I don’t understand what all this tudei controversy is about. I have been drinking kava for 20 years, from dozens of different sources, and never really noticed any kava that seemed particularly nasty. Even back in the day when kava was huge and tudei was supposedly ending up a lot in extracts and pills, I would often consume huge quantities of various pills or extracts, and I never recall feeling any particularly bad effects. And I never once barfed, although at times I became nauseous.

Surely after consuming all this kava from all these random sources I should have consumed tudei at least a couple of times and then noticed the particularly bad effects. Invariably if I had a hangover or started to feel sick it was because I had ingested a vary large quantity, and this still happens for me today, even if it’s the super noble varieties from the certified vendors.

blindy107

Kava Lover
Not everyone reacts the same way apparently. There seems to be a compound in tudei that isn't present in noble which is suspected to be the issue for some.

kasa_balavu

Yaqona Dina
Great anecdote, @Delicate Drunk. I know a guy who needs at least four bottles of beer before he even feels the slightest buzz.

That's the funny thing about the human body. Each one is different and reacts differently.

The people of the Pacific Islands who've consumed kava for centuries don't drink Tudei. The worlds foremost kava scientist has very strongly recommended against the consumption of Tudei kava on health and safety grounds. There are numerous anecdotes of Tudei kava causing severe nausea, headaches, and lethargy for up to two days after consumption. The greatest kava producing country in the world has a ban on the export of Tudei kava.

Given all that information, make up your own mind about Tudei kava :)

Last edited:

Delicate Drunk

Kava Curious