What's new

Putting Kava powder in boiling water.

Dear all, I'm relatively new to the Kava world. The effects are very good and comparable to those of benzodiazepines such as Xanax and Valium.

I recently ordered a huge quantity of Kava Powder.
The problem is that I don't know how to consume it.

I ate several tablespoons but I found the taste absolutely disgusting, so that it made me almost vomit.

Would it be possible for me to leave the Kava powder in boiling water for, say, 10 minutes, come back and filter out the Kava powder from the boiling water, in the hope that the latter is now full of Kavalactones, so that I only need to drink it like I drink a tea?

Many thanks for your advice.

fait

Position 5 Hard Support
Kava is traditionally prepared by kneading the root in water, then filtering out the solid root matter. Warm water keeps your hands from feeling needlessly cold while kneading the root, but higher temperatures actually causes the kavalactones to break down. The kneading action is the most important part as the kava root sediment doesn't dissolve in water very well. Consequently, once you have some grog made up, you'll need to shake or stir it before you pour yourself another cup as the best stuff settles at the bottom.

If you want something more convenient than medium grind kava, consider micronized or instant kava powders. Micronized kava is simply finely-ground dry kava root. Some of the less appetizing parts of the plant may get finely ground up into it, and I hear reports of people feeling sick after overimbibing in micronized, but you still get good effects. Instant kava, which I personally recommend, is where they make kava grog with fresh root (rather than dried) then dehydrate the resulting grog. The remaining solids are then crushed into a powder that rehydrates with water. The convenience comes with a price, of course. You either spend more on micronized or even more on instant.