What's new

So About Drug Tests

Status
Not open for further replies.

KavaKitty

Meaow
Noob here, both to the forums and to Kava. I have a question. My daughter and I are both recovering addicts; due to the charming behavior that we addicts engage in when we're active in our disease, she's currently under the supervision of Drug Court and living in a sober house. Because of this, she has to give a urine screen every week.

She and I both suffer from anxiety and panic; her drugs of choice were alcohol and benzos. She's been having a hard time of it lately, so I offered to send her some of my Ozia candies, because they're wonderful for on-the-spot panic relief. She told me that Kava shows up in drug screens. I told her that's not possible, and she said that the screens they use in NY drug court will find it.

I find this really hard to believe, since Kava is legal and it in no way chemically resembles and illicit substances. Can someone enlighten me, please? I don't want to force the issue, obviously, and if she's uncomfortable taking it I certainly don't want to press her to do so. I would really just like to know if this is true. It feels like every time you turn around, some regulatory agency somewhere is trying to eliminate a wonderful botanical solution to Big Pharma's hold on the wallets of the people (wow, that sounded ridiculously political, lol).

Thanks in advance. If this is covered somewhere else, I apologize for the redundancy. As I said, I'm new.

Groggy

Kava aficionado
Admin
Welcome to the forum fellow NYer, I will let someone that actually knows anything on the topic, answer that. Just wanted to say good to see more people from the East coast round' here.

To my knowledge, kava doesn't show up on drug tests and as you said it's legal.

KavaKitty

Meaow