What's new

Tested positive for Ecstasy (MDMA) after a long session yesterday

Status
Not open for further replies.

zooksman

So yesterday I had a long kava session, mostly toss and wash, and I probably ended up consuming somewhere around ten tablespoons. It was enough to make me feel amazing that night but I felt pretty hungover, nauseous, and cranky this morning for like four or five hours, and even thinking of kava right now makes me sick. (In case you're wondering why I toss and wash, it's because I am a poor college student and I get waaaayyyy more out of the same amount of toss and wash than the traditional method. Though this hangover may convince me to quit.) Anyway, I went into the doctor today for an evaluation that included a urine drug test. It was a cup with some labels on the outside, not one of those super cheap strips but nothing crazy scientific looking either. As I went in to see the doctor she asked if I had taken ecstasy and informed me that I had tested positive for it. Luckily she believed me that it was a false positive and it didn't affect me. That said, I have heard a few very rare reports of this occurring.

Is this something worth investigating? I would love to just throw it out as a complete false positive but this isn't the first report of it happening. Granted, I'm sure consuming that much kava via toss and wash is probably more likely to exacerbate that kind of thing. However, if this is a real thing it could possibly affect people who have to take random drug tests. For reference, I was using medium grind Kadavu Waka from Kava Time (great stuff by the way!) and I'm not on any other kinds of medications or supplements besides CBD oil (which also tested me positive for THC, yikes!)

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder