What's new

Three questions about kava preparation

Nils

Kava Curious
1. Most guides I come across say you should spend a long period of time "kneading" the kava through the strainer bag. Some say to do this as long as 30 minutes. Is doing it that long really necessary? Like, will there be that large of a difference kneading it for 10 minutes versus 30 minutes?

2. One guide I came across said that in the middle of the kneading process, you should dump the roots out of the strainer and back into the mix, stirring it for a bit, then straining it once more. Does this really matter?

3. I'm relatively new to kava and I find that if I just use a kava strainer bag, it leaves some "root sand" at the bottom of my kava drinks, which makes the last few sips rather difficult to swallow. Is that stuff supposed to be there? I started straining my kava once more using a very fine tea strainer at the end of the preparation process and found it eliminates most of that sand...but if the sand is good stuff I probably don't want to eliminate it, right? Just wondering about this sand and if I should keep using my tea strainer to get rid of it. I'm wondering if maybe the sand is just thick root pieces that I've squeezed through the holes in the kava straining bag from a little too much kneading.

infraredz

BULA!
1. When I used to do the kneading prep method, I didn't find much difference between 10 and 20 minutes. Of course, there is probably some difference, but I didn't find it to be large enough to warrant the extra effort. I usually would end up kneading for only 10-15 minutes and that worked just fine.

2. I think what that is trying to achieve is to re-wet the root. That's an important part of the kneading process; after you squeeze the water out of the root, you need to "re-wet" the root matter. That being said, there's no reason to do that as described above.