What's new

Veteran asking which kavas effect the liver least.

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

hellsprout

Hello Kava Forum! This is my first post here, so please take it easy on me if I get the terminology wrong. I am still a bit confused about the potential liver toxicity and whether it relates to certain kava varieties. I am a veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom dealing with PTSD and have discovered by chance kava helps alleviate some anxiety. For years I've been taking VA prescribed medication. I don't drink alcohol for fear that the combination will destroy my liver. I also fear the medication itself will eventually destroy my liver, but it's better than living with crushing depression and anxiety.

Anyway. I've watched a few videos and read some information about kava types and color tests that can be done to determine better kava for liver safety. Tudai appears to be suspected of potentially damaging the liver because ingredients found in it. Is this incorrect? I wonder why some dealers sell it given the possible dangers, and with all the other kava out there? Is there any conclusive data that identifies the safest kava for consumption? I know there are mold problems and problems with above ground plant parts use… safety is important to me given my medication use and medical history. Of course, kava sellers online and off are trying to make money with kava, so how do I know who to trust? Is there a standard when it comes to kava? Thank you for your time.

Piper Methysticum

Let Kava Take The Wheel
Welcome and thank you for your service to the country. At this stage an official classification for the popular kava varieties that pose a greater risk of liver damage does not exist. Tudei/Isa varieties are frowned upon by many of the who's who of the kava industry so I would definitely keep that in mind. A golden rule is to follow along with the basic concepts that have been in practice for thousands of years. Best of luck.

D

Deleted User01