What's new

Dehydration

CatLover

I'm fairly new to kava, and I notice that kava has strong diuretic effects for me, even stronger than a cup of coffee. If I drink more than 1 or 2 cups, I get massively dehydrated and get a headache. If I drink it before bed, I end up waking up to go pee a couple times at night, interrupting my sleep. I've been limiting myself to one or two cups to avoid the dehydration headache, but there are times when I would like to drink more than that. I've been trying to drink plenty of water with it, but this makes my stomach feel really full, since I already had drank the kava. Using kava capsules at night instead of drinking kava seems to help with not having to get up to go pee a much, but I don't get the same effects from the capsules, and I often feel dehydrated the next morning. Does anyone else have this problem, and is there anything I can do about it?

ThatDankK

̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з= ( ▀ ͜͞ʖ▀) =ε/̵͇̿̿/’̿’̿ ̿ ̿̿
@_byron has it right. You have to drink lots of water when you're consuming kava, there's really no way around it. I drink 5tbs of kava 3x wash in a total of about a liter-ish daily after my ADHD meds wear off (which also cause dehydration because they're stims) and as long as I drink water, Gatorade, etc i never get a headache or anything.

AlexisReal

Kava Enthusiast