What's new

Complete Newbie Needing Advice

sharkie

Hello there.

I have been reading through the forum for over an hour and still feel a bit lost since everything Kava is foreign to me. I figured I would just ask my questions and maybe someone can point me to the right links, threads, etc. Thanks in advance.

I am exploring Kava for two main reasons. I have already tapered a Benzo - which was brutal and I'm still not completely healed but it's been 3 years since my jump. I started tapering Mirtazapine (antidepressant) in hopes of being med-free. My current taper from the Mirt was going okay until recently. I've hit a rough patch. So my first reason for looking into the Kava is to ease the anxiety and agitation symptoms from the withdrawal. My second reason is to provide anxiety support in general when I'm off everything.

I am super sensitive and somewhat CNS compromised from the withdrawal so need to start slow and low to see how I do and if I can tolerate the Kava without it ramping symptoms. I have no idea what brand or strain is a good fit here and would appreciate suggestions.

I've also read the threads pertaining to Mirtazapine and Kava interactions (something I am concerned about). I don't know if they share enzyme pathways, but some studies shown here say yes and others say maybe ( Mirt uses 1A2, 2D6, 3A4/5). Because I have had other supplements inhibit the Mirt, I want to be careful about trying Kava, starting small and building up if all goes well. I can't afford to ramp symptoms or inhibit the med in a way that potentiates it while I'm trying to taper.