What's new

did i just make a big mistake?

kl.poppyjoy

Kava Curious
hey guys. noob here. i got my 1 lb Kona order in a couple of weeks ago. never tried kava before this.

now, i have no fear of wicked tasting stuff, and have a sense of culinary adventure; but i think there is something wrong with this kava. i've tried to tackle this Kona stuff twice, with no effect and an underlying "sick" feeling each time. the root tastes like shit too (i get the feeling it shouldn't taste like this; otherwise i don't think anyone would drink it).

i've read less than enthusiastic reviews about Kona brand.

so, instead of giving up altogether, i've ordered from Paradise Kava, another Hawaiian brand. i hope this does the trick.

i guess my question is: is Kona the only kava that has made anyone "sick", or are there others?

Kojo Douglas

The Kavasseur
Kava is an acquired taste no matter what. That being said, Kona Kava is total crap and it doesn't surprise me that you struggled through it and got nothing out of it.

If you don't like Paradise Kava, then that should be your final straw. Paradise Kava is the best.

kl.poppyjoy

Kava Curious
'k, this is the first time i've gotten an effect from kava. i'm on my second shell of Paradise 100% awa. let it be known that all kavas are not equal.

Kona sucks! ;D i don't know why (long storage in Chicago?). i knew that the insipid flavor and feeling was just somehow "wrong".

Adil's kava tastes better, looks better and has a good effect.

i'm glad i didn't give up the first time.

kl.poppyjoy

Kava Curious
ok, holy cow. i've just drunk 3 shells (1/2 cup powder), and, wow, now i get it. boy, do i get it. everything melts out of your mind and out of your body. this is going to be a wonderful replacement and adjunct to opium tea (OT being very addictive if one is not on top of it). nothing comes close to OT, but kava (and kanna) will be the majority of my artificial joy.

now we'll see if there's a hangover in the morning. (heh)