What's new

Does instant kava dissolve?

Ymir

I got a bag of this https://www.realkava.com/Kava-Kwik-Instant-Kava_c_12.html
I'm new to kava and it is running out quite fast because I need to consume quite a few tablespoons to feel the effects even though a teaspoon is recommended. It says it was made with dehydrated fresh kava root juice but it does not dissolve in water/juice. It mixes well then settles to the bottom which makes me wonder if it Is perhaps micronised?

The effects I feel aren't strong or very pronounced at all , but it calms my crippling anxiety which is all I need from it really. I also
get zero nausea no matter how much i consume (4-6 tablespoons is the most I have had in a night since starting 2 weeks ago I estimate)

The taste is actually somewhat pleasant (ive heard awful reports about the taste) and its very numbing. Just wondering if anyone else has experience with this paticular brand. It's the only kava I have tried and I heard good things about the supplier but I have nothing to compare it to.

Osadandaula UK

Kava Enthusiast
I've not tried this brand but I think all instant (dehydrated) is similar. Fresh made kava has a lot of sediment, it starts noticeably settling almost immediately.

My experience with instant (solomon's chief) is it also settles, which is what I'd expect given what it's made from. I've not tried leaving it before but even a few moments and I'll swill the last bit before it goes down, as it's already starting to settle.

I fine I get almost no nausea with instant, I'm not sure why. 4-6 tablespoons is an expensive business, so not something I've done often.

If it's your first Kava experience, there are a couple of things to highlight. 1; Kava is subtle compared to say alcohol or marajuana. 2; revers tolerance is no joke, it may be that you'll feel more affect the longer you keep trying.

Certainly all sounds quite normal to me.

Ymir