What's new

Help - Kava making supplies?

kl.Animus

Hello all,
I am new to the kava scene and just ordered some stone kava root powder from nakamal @ home yesterday. I wish I'd have thought to buy a straining bag and lecithin granules as well since they are only a few bucks each, but I didn't realize those were so useful in kava preparation.
I could order them now but that would require further waiting and I am eager to try kava. What else works well as a strainer and what common places can it be found? I know lecithin is commonly found at walmart and health food stores but it seems like these are more of the pill/liquid form. I know the Nakamal @ home recipe calls for a teaspoon and I was wondering if a teaspoon works regardless of whether it is in granual or pill/liquid form. If not how much should I use?
Thanks!
PS: Sorry about the multiple posts. There was some error when I tried to post and it resulted in copies. I deleted the copies so it should be good now.

kl.Animus

My Stone Kava came today but I won't be able to try it until tonight after work. I thought of a few more questions. Does Kava powder lose its potency over time? Would storing it in the freezer or fridge help keep it fresh? The instructions say in a well sealed container it can last about 3 days, but I assume that refers to the drink not the powder.

kl.alohasteve

Kava Curious
1. Strainers - You'll definitely need a strainer. You can use a t-shirt, pantyhose, or paint strainers (clean from the hardware store), or anything similar. Nakamal's strainers are ok, but I prefer Hawaiian Kava Center or Kule Kava if you want to buy one from a kava seller.

Also, check this thread for discussion of strainers: http://kavalounge.yuku.co...-to-the-forum#reply-1503

2. Lecithin - You don't need this to enjoy kava but I think you can get it at a grocery store. When I do use it, I prefer Kona Kava's since it's a bit finer and dissolves a little easier.