What's new

How to prepare Kava

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

absurdanapal

Hi there!

I'm new to Kava, and I'm new to this forum. I'm glad to post my first message!

As a presentation, I can say that I'm a french man, living in Paris, and I started using Kava one month ago after reading all the good posts in this forum (and others ;) ). Being a french guy, please, excuse my english in advance!

I bought a batch of Isa Tudei and a batch of Tongan Pride from Rex, but I had difficulty preparing it until I feel something noticeable. I tried the kneading method, and the blender method...

At first I was really disappointed, because I saw the diminishing level of Kava in my bags and still very mild effect...

So one day I put a big amount of Kava (half a mug) with not so much water (a single mug), some olive oil, and I prepared an emulsion, like you prepare a mayonnaise sauce. I've done this after browsing the internet and finding some suggestion to prepare it. This time the effects were perfectly noticeable, yet not as strong as I expected. Since then it's the only way I prepare my Kava.

I make an emulsion using an electric whisk for 4-5 minutes, then I wait half an hour, then I reuse the whisk for one to two minutes, then I put the mix in a blender and mix for 3-5 minutes. Then I strain the mixture with a stocking, and I drink this disgusting oily emulsion. Sometimes I add coconut cream to change the taste, but since I drink Kava mostly for its therapeutic usage, I'm used to drink this without any flavor.

What I can say, is that even if i'm don't feel krunk with Isa or Tongan, I do feel the relaxation, both in my head and my body. The next day after drinking Isa, I feel very good, fresh and relax, for at least half of the day. With Tongan, I don't feel so much the supposed stimulatory effects, I feel relaxed and happy for the first few hours, but after 4-5 hours I start to feel sleepy.