What's new

I'm afraid I may be having a serious health issue that could be Kava related...

David718

Kava Curious
I'm 44yo and in good shape, and active, although less so since the pandemic. Mostly tennis now as gyms are not a fun place with masks,

I've been using Kava for about 2 years. Mostly in the evenings. About 30-60g of very high quality Kava.

I've fractured my Foot playing tennis last May. Recovered and got back to only practice, so not nearly as intense. Maybe only to 60%. After a few moths, I've fractured it again. Same foot but different bone. It's been several moths since then and I continue to be active but cautious. The foot felt 95% there, and last few weeks it's down to 50% well, if that makes sense. I didn't even think to attribute this to Kava, but I've started putting the pieces together and it hit me today there may be a connection.

Being active you have all types of aches. I notice sometimes after drinking Kava the aches get exacerbated.

I know Kava has a drying effect on the skin, I wonder if something could be happening to your body, where your bones get brittle or you're not absorbing nutrients properly. I've had some blood work done, but everything seems to be normal. I was low on vitamin D after 2nd fracture, but not really deficient.

I don't drink alcohol etc, but I do use K@. Very little, so I don't think that could be an issue unless a synergistic negative effect.

Any thoughts on this would be hugely appreciated!!!
David
NY

Last edited:

ThePiper

Kava Lover
I’d suspect dehydration if you are getting muscle aches or similar sensations. Ive never heard of increased fractures from kava.

Ellviis

Kava Curious
Maybe the kava is affecting your body’s healing process? I can’t find the source, but I read somewhere it’s not recommended to use kava immediately after surgery, as it may affect blood clotting, and in turn the healing process.

I found these, maybe, possibly related?