What's new

Interaction/ Klonopin & Kava

Newbie here with a serious question. I was “diagnosed “ with generalized anxiety disorder 30 plus years ago . The only medication that helped me was klonopin . Currently I take 1mg three times a day . For the past couple of years the medication seems like it’s lost it’s ability to help . I’ve also tried every Prozac related medication known with no relief. I was once on 8mg’s a day . My anxiety lately has been through the roof . Several panic attacks daily . No underlying issues. Can I take kava and klonopin at the same time ? I’m not looking to get high , stoned , etc . I’m looking for anxiety relief without being so dependent on klonopin. Anyone out there with a similar dilemma? NOTE : I still haven’t tried Kava . Hence the reason for this question.

Forretressqt

Kava Curious
Quick google dictates that Klonopin/clonazepam has moderate interactions with Kava; main things seem to be drowsiness and sedation however breathing issues and confusion are also possibilities.

The main reason i'm concerned is that I've almost found it quite hard to find any medicine that Kava interacts with so it's suprising that there's multiple resources on this in particular.

This is a case in which I would definitely talk to your Doc before trying it out.

Groggy

Kava aficionado
Admin