What's new

Is this legislativel bill a threat to kava ?

Plantacious

Kava Enthusiast
This is a bill that would create sweeping changes in the supplement industry, and kava may be caught in the crosshairs.

The bill gives them greater, unchecked power to ban supplemts. Every supplement and ingredient that is protected by DSHEA will have to have FDA approval to be sold.
Here is the bill itself :
As I find relevant things in the bill, I will post the quotes for ease of access for everyone

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
This is a bill that would create sweeping changes in the supplement industry, and kava may be caught in the crosshairs.

The bill gives them greater, unchecked power to ban supplemts. Every supplement and ingredient that is protected by DSHEA will have to have FDA approval to be sold.
Here is the bill itself :
As I find relevant things in the bill, I will post the quotes for ease of access for everyone

Just read that, and I'm not a lawyer but I don't see anything in there that would prevent the sale of any dietary supplements. It seems to me to be adding additional requirements to those that wish to sell them. It just requires much more documentation to be filed with the state in order to do so.

It also says this information will be publicly available.

Again, definitely not a lawyer but even I can see the dietary supplement system is getting abused to hell and back, and this will probably be just one of many changes we'll begin to see.

They did add a new section which allows them to prevent sales of supplements by any person who has been convicted of a felony relating to importation of food into the United States.

Groggy

Kava aficionado
Admin
It might be a good thing as kava is pretty much legitimized.

Of course, I'd prefer to see kava listed a food but baby steps.

Plantacious

Kava Enthusiast
Interesting, I guess it's more "protected" if labeled as a "food".