What's new

Kava allergy or overuse or just normal?

greg99

Kava Curious
Hey all,

Long time reader, first time actually signing up to the forum. I live in Philly so if anyone knows of any Kava bars there or is located in that area and wants to meet up for a few shells let me know!

I'm pretty new to kava. I ordered my first batch of kava from KWK (absolutely amazing company by the way for customer service and I think will be my permanent go to if I keep drinking kava) back in May. I ordered the micronized and the traditional and tried both. I loved it. I felt fine too. I didn't really get nauseous and the taste doesn't seem to bother me either. I didn't get any dry skin either. However, I tend to hit the stuff pretty hard when I have it handy. I would say I went through my order consuming about 7-10 TBSP med grind per day and half that if using micronized.

As I mentioned earlier, I "felt" fine...but boy did I look terrible...like dark circles under the eyes really bad...that's the main thing I'm questioning in this post...the deep dark circles...it made me look like I had been on an alcohol type bender (I used to drink years ago and it pretty much looked spot on to when I was drinking crap loads).

I gave up Kava for a month...then ordered another batch...I really like it and again, was probably going too heavy at 7-10 TBSP med grind until I finished. Same result.

So...I'm just wondering if the eye thing...is this normal to some extent? If not, I assume it is just related to drinking too may TBSP per day...which seems like the most logical thing. Or, is this sort of unheard of...which makes me think perhaps I'm just either allergic or not tolerant of kava? I've searched the forums and seen lots of stuff about dry red irritated eyes as being somewhat normal but what got me curious enough to make this post was I didn't see much about deep dark circles. Another thought is perhaps not drinking enough water to go along with the shells...