What's new

Kava dermopathy

sɥɐʞɐs

Avg. Dosage: 8 Tbsp. (58g)
Review Maestro
It's mostly just from consumption, but many of us note aged looking hands and wear latex/nitrile gloves while kneaded. I stopped because I didn't notice much difference.

Jana

Kava Enthusiast
The dermo got me on my both hands. It's actually worse on my hands than any other place. It's peeling. Mostly the fingers, not the palms of the hands. They're just now *starting* to clear up. I'm not sure what makes different people more susceptible to dermopathy, but I tend to have a drier skin type anyway and had not been in the habit of using moisturizers/lotions before starting Kava anyway (and I live in Phoenix, AZ). Perhaps it is just something you'll have to experiment with, and if you find that you start getting dry/flaky/peeling hands, it might be worth a shot to give those gloves a try like Shakas mentioned. I've never used gloves before so I can't vouch for it personally but I do plan on trying it the next time I get some Kava to prepare traditionally. The only locations I've gotten dermopathy at are on my right cheek, the corners of my mouth, the creases where my my arm and torso meet (the outer armpit area/the front of the shoulder near the breast), and not ON the armpit, but a bit behind it. More near the shoulder blade.

Funnily enough, we have glands under our arms, and also in our hands. I've seen a lot of people saying they get dermo under their arms. However, I have seen pictures of full-body dermopathy and doesn't look anything like the kind of dermopathy I get.

http://kavaforums.com/forum/threads/dermopathy-contest-whos-had-the-worst.1807/

You can get an example of what some people have experienced on this thread and the kind of dermo you might be in for (if you haven't already ;) ). I also find it interesting that many of the locations people have dermopathy at are places where lymph nodes are located.

lymph-nodes.jpg

Last edited:

Zac Imiola (Herbalist)

Kava Connoisseur