What's new

Kava for nerve and muscle pain/spasms

Texaskava

Hi guys, I'm brand new to kava and don't know much. I have Tourette's syndrome and have been trying to find things to reduce my tics. (Tourette's syndrome is a neurological disorder that causes unwanted movements and vocalizations called tics). I have a very bad Neck cracking/shoulder jerking tic that causes a lot of muscle and nerve pain and spasm. The pain and spasming cause the tics to get worse, which of course causes more pain and spasming, and so on. Another person with TS suggested I try kava. I recently tried a kava tincture from Kona Kava farm, Kava Tincture Plus. It worked pretty well, but a serving size is 2 droppers full. The whole container only has 15 servings. Which is pretty expensive for 20$ a bottle. I'm wondering if there are any kava root/blend strains that I can get a little bit more bang for my buck with, that will accomplish the same thing? Basically, has anyone found a specifc kava blend, or other kava product (ie, paste, tincture, etc) that is effective at reducing nerve and muscle pain/spasm and doesn't make you too drowsy, which is reasonably priced? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
@Texaskava
Welcome!

It sounds like you're in need of some kava that has some potency behind it that may actually last a bit longer.

Since you're new, I would suggest instant kavas, or flavored prepared kava drinks.

Check out these guys, they're new and have a product that is supposed to be quite tasty and effective

You may want to give kalm with kava's extract drink a try to see if it works for you.
https://kalmwithkava.com/shop/kalm-with-kava-concentrate/ (I suggest the guava)

Also you can check this spreadsheet for which vendors have instant kavas available at the moment.