What's new

Most sessions not enjoyable - anyone else have the same experience?

Cuzzie

Kava Enthusiast
Hi all,

Curious if anyone else has had a similar experience.

I’ve been drinking kava for about 3 months now and drink 3-4 times a week. I’ve noticed that most of the time I drink, I feel nothing even if it’s on an empty stomach.

Another large percentage of time, I’ll feel no positive effects, but will have a “hangover” several hours later and even lasting into the next day where I feel nauseous and/or just out of it and not myself. I make sure to drink lots of water all the time so I don’t think it’s dehydration.

Then a small percentage of the time, I feel the very positive effects that I see many of you discussing so often. And it’s only because of these very few positive sessions that I keep drinking to see if I can get those positive sessions more consistently.

Since I’ve had a few very positive experiences, I don’t think this is reverse tolerance anymore. So I’m wondering if there are some people who just don’t have the same positive reaction to kava as much of the time as other people who have consistently positive experiences?

My prep method is usually the aluball and shaker. I’ve also experimented and added nut milks and whole milk.

Ive noticed that KWK borogu is the kava that is most consistent for me as far as feeling something positive. I have also tried Tongan family reserve, and about 4 other KWK varieties, as well as the ozia stress candies but none of these seem to have any consistent or predictable result for me yet.

Look forward to any feedback anyone may have.

Thanks!

BobBriggs

Kava Curious
I would try the blender method or traditional preparation. You might also try using hot water or even bringing the kava to the boil first. This increases potency for me.

Cuzzie

Kava Enthusiast