What's new

Kava Beverage Review Mulled peach Bir Kar and watermelon Spotted Hiwa!

kavakarma

Kava Enthusiast
cpReview
cpReview
IMG_2022-07-14-13-00-03-822.jpg
Hello everybody! Here's a lovely photo of the Mulled Peach Bir Kar on the left and the Honeybush Spotted Hiwa on the right. I'm going to take a moment of time to discuss the ingredients, what I think is interesting, as well as the flavor and the effects. This is my first time trying these kavas. First off, let me say I have drank both already, had only oats to eat today, and I work eight or nine hours about one hour ahead of now.

Reading from the package, ingredients: For the Mulled peach, we are looking at reverse osmosis filtered water. I typed that out because although water is not an ingredient, the water itself does have a clean, fresh smell to it. Idaho honey, gladly able to taste it in the Spotted Hiwa, I'll get there promptly. Noble kava root from Vanuatu, labeled as Bir Kar and sold by Art of Kava as dry root powder. If you like their Bir Kar, I'd suggest trying Art of Kava's Temotu Purple. Peach puree, this ingredient is the knot holding the brew together, it shines here. Orange zest and clove are blended with cinnamon to bring a sweet flavor that reminds me of home. The Ascorbic acid is an interesting addition, because the other package has citric acid instead. I am sure there is a reason for this, not only as a preservative, but to take care of the type of kava used. I don't have any ph test strips available, however the kava did not taste acidic. Acids are a preservative, inhibiting the growth of harmful bacteria at a certain concentration. With vinegar canning, you need a ph value of 4.0 or less, preferably less. Peaches themselves have a ph value of 3.30 to 4.05 and ascorbic acid solutions are down low too. Ascorbic acid is an antioxidant, and oxidation does spoil kava. Nonetheless, this grog does not taste acidic at all.