What's new

new to blender prep. questions

infraredz

BULA!
I've normally kneaded or mashed my kava then squeezed out my prep bag (nylon stocking). I'm going to get a blender soon and have a few questions about using a blender.

What speed should it be blended at? For how long? Can you 'over blend'?

Any things to avoid as I've never used a blender before?

What's the best way to do a second wash with a blender?

Thanks

D

Deleted User01

Infraredz, please go to the Web Site for Kava by Rex.  In the past, I used a a blender until I read his preparation technique.  I still use it but only to mix the Kava because it is easy for me to pour it into my nylon (brewbag) bag.     http://kavabyrex.com/makekava.html

Good luck!

hyperdown

Kava Curious
I use the blender method.

You'll want a good quality blender, but it doesn't need to be 'high speed'. I use the low speed setting for 2 minutes, with some lecithin added.

I then pour the foamy mixed kava into a large mason jar with a fine mesh tea-strainer placed in the opening of the jar. I use a spoon and scrape along the tea-strainer to help the liquid go through and to squeeze the pulp. I generally have to do the straining in small batches because the flow of liquid through the mesh is slow.

I don't think over blending will be a problem for the kava, but might be for your blender! I've not had much success with 2nd washes, seems to get most of the good stuff out the first time.

Good luck!

infraredz

BULA!
I have noticed that my Kava has been tasting very differently since using a blender. I would describe it as a "bite" so maybe it's bitter but it could be an exaggerated form of the peppery taste of the Kava...? I wonder if the blender heats it up because I always used cold water when I would make a batch.

Anyone have this issue or know of a way to deal with it?

infraredz

BULA!
hyperdown said:
The strainer I use looks like this: