What's new

Newb - Just got Kona Kava

Hi all, 

So I'm pretty new to this. I just recently heard about kava and became super interested. I'm looking for something to help in social situations similarly to alcohol without the terrible hangover, and blackout "OMG what happened last night?" moments because i guess I have a tendency to binge drink. Basically I'm looking for euphoria, lessened inhibition, and sexy time - aphrodisiac qualities would be stellar!

I ordered 8oz of Kona Kava root powder, and was super excited to try it last night. I put about 2 TBSP into about 2 cups of water and let it sit for maybe 30 minutes. Then I passed it through my muslin, squeezed out excess, and chugged it. Short of a slight numbness of mouth I really didn't feel anything? Any recommendations to preparation so I can make the most of what I have on hand atm? Should I let it soak overnight maybe would that help any?

Now that I’m doing more research here, I'm finding that Kona Kava isn’t a spectacular supplier, and I'm wondering what your recommendations might be for me. I will def continue to use this batch with my boyfriend and hopefully build a reverse tolerance, but moving forward what are some good, affordable batches to try? Should I consider trying a paste?

Thank you in advance :)

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
Hello, and welcome to the forums. As you have no doubt discovered, Kona is more interested in profits and advertising than actually providing a quality product. Any of the other suppliers here will give you more bang for your buck than Kona.

I'd try out BulaKavaHouse. Buy a bag of their Boroguru kava. Excellent kava.

http://store.bulakavahouse.com/

Their kavas are excellent and very reasonably priced as well. You will definitely want to start with buying a kilo or two.