What's new

Newbie here, micro vs instant?

MikeB

I like Mo'i
Hi all, I'm new here and ready to evolve to buying my own kava in bulk and experimenting with it. This will be my first order so I want to get it right :)

I don't want to deal with straining and etc at first, so I saw on the wiki that either "micro" or "instant" is the way to go. Can anyone give a comparison of the two?

- How do the taste and effects compare between the two?
- How do they compare to powdered root?

Also going through some reviews and it looks like many of the "best" strains happen to be non-micronized powder, like Boroguru and Nambawan from Bula Kava House. Is it worth me going with these and ditching the whole micronized/instant concept? Does it make prep a lot more complicated? I kind of just want to pour something in water and mix it with juice and not think about it... :D

Also, any thoughts on "extract?" I saw it listed on the wiki but I don't see a lot of reference to it here on the forums. Instead people seem to be making their own "extract" via this micro syrup concept...

Also, btw, since I haven't seen this mentioned here, I first tried Kava from this "Brooklyn Kava" brand that they have in Whole Foods here in NYC:

The raw "Kava Kava" flavor is basically just pulverized kava root mixed with water - can someone tell me if that's the thing called "grog"? Whatever it is I love it. It has a nice complex earthy taste, which is a nice way of saying that it tastes like a cup of dirt, and also that apparently I like dirt. I think it's made by the same people who make "King Kava" - I think that's the guy who was talking about opening a Kava bar in NYC.

Bula!
Mike

Last edited:

KavaCat

Meow.