What's new

Newbie here

Hi folks, thank you for creating an awesome forum!

I am new at this and I think I am suffering from the dreaded reverse tolerance... but I just wanted to make sure I am processing the kava properly, and perhaps get some tips on making the effect more noticable.

OK, firstly, I used to have a problem with alcohol, but am now 6 months sober... whew, glad thats out of the way.

Im on my second bag of 1/2 pound tikarams kava and here is how I prepare...
use tap hot water
Mix in about 1/4 cup of kava in my blender (I have no electricity, but I found a blender that has a rip cord.. I shit you not!)
Blend for 3-4 mins
pour into a calaco bag
massage until no more liquid
I leave the spent(?) kava in the bag and repeat the above back to back 3 or 4 times (with new kava)

mouth goes numb... thats about it... oh, and I fast for at least 2 hours beforehand.

Any tips? The only other thing I havent tried is to use a small amount of fat, i.e. milk in the blending process. Would that make a huge difference?

Thanks in advance for any wisdom :)

Cheers, Pete.

Groggy

Kava aficionado
Admin

I am new at this and I think I am suffering from the dreaded reverse tolerance... but I just wanted to make sure I am processing the kava properly, and perhaps get some tips on making the effect more noticable.

OK, firstly, I used to have a problem with alcohol, but am now 6 months sober... whew, glad thats out of the way.

use tap hot water
Mix in about 1/4 cup of kava in my blender (I have no electricity, but I found a blender that has a rip cord.. I shit you not!)
Blend for 3-4 mins
pour into a calaco bag
I leave the spent(?) kava in the bag and repeat the above back to back 3 or 4 times (with new kava)

mouth goes numb... thats about it... oh, and I fast for at least 2 hours beforehand.

Any tips? The only other thing I havent tried is to use a small amount of fat, i.e. milk in the blending process. Would that make a huge difference?

Cheers, Pete.