What's new

Ok...so what is this in my Kava?

Sunset_squash67

Aus kava enthusiast
I'm totally new to kava, and am currently on my first ever bag purchased from BiloVinaka. They were the first and only kava shipped from an Aus warehouse at the moment.

After filtering through a nut milk bag, it's left with all these little "sticks" stuck in the filter. Even after drying they are a pain to get out...

Is this supposed to be in kava powder? Or is it a form of contamination? See attached pics

Attachments

Edward

Aluballin' in the UK
Kava Vendor
Looks like root to me. What you've bought is ground dried root. The grind will vary from vendor to vendor and quite often Fijian kavas tend to be ground a bit finer than others. Despite the fine grind you will still get small pieces of root like that. It's not contamination, just the nature of the product and certainly nothing to worry about.

Sunset_squash67

Aus kava enthusiast
Thanks for the response everyone! Glad to know it's normal.

Any tips for how to get them out of the filter? It's so time consuming to pick them out with tweezers.

In the meantime, I might try blending my Kava tonight. I have been using kneading prep so far...although once I did 1 tbsp blended after my usual 4tbsp kneading prep.

The blended shell definitely felt stronger, but affected my stomach a bit more...

Edward

Aluballin' in the UK
Kava Vendor

Any tips for how to get them out of the filter? It's so time consuming to pick them out with tweezers.

In the meantime, I might try blending my Kava tonight. I have been using kneading prep so far...although once I did 1 tbsp blended after my usual 4tbsp kneading prep.

The blended shell definitely felt stronger, but affected my stomach a bit more...
They should wash out fairly easily. I suppose it depends what type of strainer you have. Leaving them in there is a fair option, they won't hurt you.