What's new

Questions about toss and wash

P

pitshack

Hey there guys. I am finally taking the plunge and buying some traditional kava powder, it's boroguru and should be here tonight when I get home from work. I have been using instants from bula and kava kauai for about six months every day. Usually 4tsp.s on week days and maybe 8-10 tsp.s on weekends to get a liitle krunked. I have ridiculous anxiety to the point of it causing hypertension, which I am going to have to start taking meds for. I take traditional psych meds but they seem to be only going so far.

I plan on using a toss and wash type method. I figured I would put an amout in a large glass of water stir it and chug it. I may eventually move to a traditional prep, but not yet. I have two reasons for trying traditional powder. 1. its cheaper and 2. I am getting curious about other types of kava. By using only instants I only get to experience whatever type of kava they decided to make into an instant.

So basically I have two questions. I have heard that toss and was is stronger. I'm wondering what I should start with. 2 tbsp.s seems to be fairly common but is that for traditional prep? I usually use 2 tsps. of instant about an hour apart. Also, what are my chances of serious dermopathy. As it is now, I use a hell of alot of instant and have never had a problem with it at all. Any responses would be awesome!

infraredz

BULA!
I would say that with Boroguru, 2tbsps would be a good place to start. In my experience, 2tbsps of Stone was effective when consumed this way and Boroguru is about the same in potency.

I think, and I would imagine many would agree, that the risk of developing dermopathy is much higher with toss and wash. Also, there is some reason to believe that there may be other unhealthy effects from consuming it this way (the hundreds or thousands of years of consumption have either been buccal or strained powder, not toss and wash).