What's new

Reverse Tolerance

Blinkyrocket

Kava Enthusiast
You know, I'm no expert but I have a theory on reverse tolerance. The half-lives of the non-kavain kavalactones are VERY long, so with everyday use these kavalactones will build up in the system to levels even higher than you can get with one large session. There is also an "entourage" effect, presumably, when these kavalactones are present that causes Kavain to reach exponentially higher levels in the brain, and this may apply to Yangonin as well. So, after some accumulation of those other potentiating but not necessarily as "important" kavalactones, the desirable ones are able to finally get into the brain so to speak.

Just thought I'd share my theory. For anyone interested and not already having this knowledge, half-lives are the rate of metabolism of a drug or, in this case, a kavalactone. If I'm correct, a half-life means that the substance is metabolized by half for every given amount of time that passes.

So, reverse tolerance probably can be broken through on one's first try if they drink enough Kava, because even with the first time you still get all the kavalactones. It's just that Kavain, in research, seems to be the hardest kavalactone to reach the brain and can't really "get there" without the other kavalactones.

It does have to do with the very long half-lives of non-kavain kavalactones, but I think it has more to do with the fact that they are potent liver enzyme inhibitors. Because the liver enzymes are inhibited, more of the substance gets into the bloodstream and stays longer. You may need to consume less, or get "more" from the same amount, simply because more is getting past the liver and into the bloodstream.

Dr.Krunk

Certified Quack