What's new

Kava Side Effects Serious stomach cramps, bloating and other effects. Wondering if Kava could be the culprit

Kava-noob

Kava Curious
Hi all. So as my username suggests, I'm a total Kava newbie. I've been lurking these forums for a while and finally decided to start an account.

After doing research and whatnot, I decided that I would go with an instant Kava to start with so I can try it out easily to see how I like it. I've read that this is a good way for new Kava users to start.

The vendor I bought it from is a trusted vendor of mine and i made sure the instant kava is of the Noble variety. I can tell it's good because it brings that numbness to your mouth when you drink it.

I've had effects from it a small handful of times, but it was very mild and short lived. Most of the time I felt hardly anything. I figured that's because of reverse tolerance so I decided to keep testing it out.

The packaging says Instant Hawaiian kava kava root extract, and it's 40% kavalactones. I'm unsure if mentioning vendors is allowed here or not.

Anyways, so I noticed an onset of uncomfortable symptoms shortly after my kava experimentation. The first one that popped up was stomach bloating, stomach cramps, and frequent urination. It got to the point to where one night I felt symptoms similar to that of a UTI. I wrote it off as me drinking too much water with my doses and decided to try it again but with a smaller water ratio.

As time went on (a week or so of trying it), the stomach cramps would reappear after using it to the point where I thought it was period cramps. It didn't stop there.

All night last night (after only having 4 teaspoons of kava that day), my body temperature was high even though the house wasn't super warm. The cramps continued to where it felt more like cramps from built up gas. I tried to take care of it by going to the bathroom but I was constipated. I couldn't sleep until 5 am.