What's new

Skin reaction and questions about different grinds

infraredz

BULA!
I have normally consumed Stone which, is *in my experience* a medium grind. I picked up some Fu'u the other day and after two sessions, started to see the worst of the Kava skin reaction I've ever got. Sometimes with Stone, (I think when I'm not diligent about staying hydrated) I get dry and flaky skin which is no problem. I've been drinking stone for a few months FWIW.

However after these two sessions with the Fu'u, I noticed a redness associated with the skin flakes (around my armpits and my upper thighs). They look like redish stretch marks.

I'm wondering if the incredibly fine grind of the Fu'u is what did this since I normally don't have this sort of issue and it seemed to happen the day after my first two Fu'u sessions. I would imagine that consuming the actual plant matter is probably directly proportional to the skin reaction and was wondering if that's what could have caused it.

It's not painful or itchy or anything, but I decided to start taking Niacin (per N@H suggestion) and stay much more hydrated.

kavadude

❦ॐ tanuki tamer
Have you been drinking kava pretty frequently over the last couple weeks? It may not be the Fu'u, it may be time to take a break from kava altogether until it goes away.

The Kap'n

The Groggy Kaptain (40g)
KavaForums Founder
If taking a break isn't in your schedule (my schedule calls for no kava breaks) then switch to a coarser grind. It's those fine grind kavas that can really aggravate your skin and cause dermapothy. I know this from personal experience exactly like your own.

Dan

Kava Enthusiast