What's new

Strainer Bags

sdcanoe

Hello,
I am fairly new to Kava and have question about strainer bags. I currently have two bags, a fine mesh Fiji and a beer making bag with bigger holes. The beer store bag makes a stronger Kava, but it is quite gritty with lots of small particles. So far it has not bothered my stomach at all, but is there any reason to worry about drinking the particles? Thank you.

Szafirek

Kava Curious
Hello,
I am fairly new to Kava and have question about strainer bags. I currently have two bags, a fine mesh Fiji and a beer making bag with bigger holes. The beer store bag makes a stronger Kava, but it is quite gritty with lots of small particles. So far it has not bothered my stomach at all, but is there any reason to worry about drinking the particles? Thank you.
Hi,
I advise against this method of preparation. These particles will have a bad effect on the stomach and skin.
Maybe you can make stronger kava with a kava bag? How do you prepare the beverage? Traditionally or with a blender? Maybe you don't knead long enough? After using a blender, it is also good to squeeze (and soak) the bag several times.

Jean

Kava Curious
I can only confirm Safirek's comments. That is why many kava consumers react negatively with micronized kava since it comprises particles of size well above 100 micrometers while with a 80 mesh filter the particle size is up to roughly 120 micrometers.

sdcanoe

Thank you for the replies. I will switch to the Fiji strainer bag, and maybe knead a little longer. Thank you.

sɥɐʞɐs

Avg. Dosage: 8 Tbsp. (58g)
Review Maestro
buy a few nylon nut-milk bags with different micron sizes; like 75μm and 100μm and whatever else works good for you. the best option depends on the individuals gut tolerance and the grind of the kava powder you're using. after long term use the mesh of your strainer will get clogged with kavalactones and eventually make your microns smaller. ::tanoafull::

Zaphod

Kava Lover
Hello,