What's new

Tried Tincture: Got Headache; Is it different with powder/instant?

BumbleBee

I'm new to Kava and want to alleviate anxiety.

Tried Happy Camper capsules and didn't feel anything. Then tried 20 drops of tincture from of Herb Pharm. I felt a head buzz for about 2 hours and nausea, then just a headache through the end of the next day.

I don't have anything to compare the head buzz to because I have never drank alcohol. (Religious upbringing - long story).

So I did not enjoy the headache feeling and thought maybe someone knew if this was suppose to be the appropriate feeling at the beginning? Do you think it would be better if I try another form of Kava as the tincture contains alcohol? Thank you!!

Last edited:
D

Deleted User01

Welcome Bumblebee. Extracts that use ethanol for extraction can end up extracting dangerous chemicals that probably cause a variety of ills. You may want to consider buying pure Kava and preparing it yourself with water. GHK's kavas have testing as 100% noble so their sampler would be a good start. You could branch out from there assuming you didn't have any bad reactions. Here is a link to study on extracts:
http://www.plosone.org/article/fetc....1371/journal.pone.0111572&representation=PDF

BumbleBee

Now I remember seeing an interview about ethanol and it's not so safe method of extracting Kava. But for some reason I thought if I am able purchase this at a reputable health food store, it should be OK. No wonder the experience was sickening and so uncomfortable!!

I have a bottle of Xanax here untouched. I see it as my last option if I can't handle the Kava. Passion flower and chamomile don't help the kind of anxiety and panic attacks I get.

Thanks for that study! And yes I will try that GHK sampler and report back.

Vekta

Notorious Lightweight
Review Maestro
I drink kava for anxiety, panic attacks and it also helps me avoid sensory overload.

I hope it works as well for you as it has for me.