What's new

Kava History Vanuatu in the 1980's

kastom_lif

Kava Lover
Stan Combs and his family from Canada lived on Malekula for several years in the 1980's. They used to have memoirs hosted at shaw.ca (since closed). Thankfully, the pages have been archived and you can still read them here: https://web.archive.org/web/20151219201946/http://members.shaw.ca:80/scombs/vanuatu.html

By the way, thanks, @kasa_balavu for suggesting making this a thread!

The stories are an entertaining mix of culturally nuanced observations and devastatingly blunt opinions. I can't say that he's wrong or right. Definitely worth a read, though.

This site is about what I learned about Vanuatu during 1987-92, when I worked as a development adviser first to a regional government and then to the central government .... I characterize "underdevelopment" in Vanuatu as a clash of the Melanesian and Western cultures, with "bewilderment" being the operative word on both sides.
As a development adviser, I was favourably impressed by kava because commercial nakamals are the only sector of Vanuatu's money economy that is completely controlled by ni-Vanuatu. The urban nakamals are run along family lines, with the kava roots being grown by relatives back on the islands. They are sent to town on the coastal traders that buy copra (dried coconut meat, Vanuatu's main export, which is sent to Europe to be crushed for coconut oil). In town, nakamal businesses fail and re-open according to management ability and social distractions, but there are always many open at any one time. The commercial kava trade is a good way to get money out to the outer islands, and money spent on kava circulates among ni-Vanuatu. It is much less expensive than domestic or imported beer, and it is culturally and socially appropriate.