What's new

Whole roots! Very pleased. Thank you Fiji Fresh Kava.

kavakarma

Kava Enthusiast
Bula! I am glad I ordered the whole sun dried Fiji'an waka roots. During the day I showed my workmates a few roots, and the true joy was my hands on experience of grinding my own kava root. This is my first time ordering from Fiji Fresh, and they shipped right away. It is also my initial encounter with whole roots. I've had the pleasure of frozen-fresh before, however that was milled up for me already. I'll jump right to the photos!

Preparation!
IMG_20201214_235806.jpg

Here is a few photos of the roots beginning to be processed. I chose to use a machine grinder with sharp spinning blades attached to a motor, because I had the tool available, and was anticipating a post-work shell and dinner. I realize traditionally this tool is unavailable and other methods such as pounding, chewing, and crank-grinding are suitable where a mortar and pestle or zester / grater are not available.
IMG_20201214_235813.jpg

IMG_20201214_235749.jpg

This image shows a few of the larger roots, as well as the Piper Methysticum leaves on the packaging. In this photo is a quarter pound of root.

Some roots were string-thin. I learned the fibers loosen more readily if you twist the roots instead of snap them or bend them.

The larger chunks, I used a knife to chop them - note that I CHOPped, not cutting back and forth like a saw. Using knives, you must be careful. I was trained to use kitchen knives by a chef who knows the skill from college education and experience working in the field. I find that cutting at a biased angle between the "root nodes" gives a clean cut. Here's something fascinating I found, it looks like a root within a root.
IMG_20201215_002704.jpg