What's new

Hello from the Deep South (U.S.)

Huebras

Kava Newbie
Hello Y'all,

I'm very new to kava and found this forum about a week ago doing some desktop research on the subject. After reading much of what this great site and wonderful contributors have created here I decided to sign up. First, I'd like to introduce myself and give you all a little background. My friends and family call me Jay and I am from Louisiana (U.S.). I heard about kava and it's benefits on a podcast and immediately started researching it and looking for a supplier because of all the positive effects it was reported to induce. Most of all the sociability aspect. I am naturally a shy and introverted person who is VERY awkward around new people who longs to be comfortable in social situations. Secondly, I read that kava can help wean people off of alcohol and can be a great alternative because of the retention of cognitive abilities and lack of a "hangover". I like to drink a few beers (3-6) in the evening on more days than not and it has taken it's toll, mentally, socially, and physically.

I received my first kava product, in the form of powder, almost a month ago and began my journey. Because of my research, I wasn't surprised that my first drink didn't produce any effects due to RT but I kept at it drinking at least one a day of the powdered kava until I read a review on this site about an instant kava that the reviewer said was really strong and mild tasting (the powder wasn't too bad but wasn't tasty by any stretch) so I switched a few days ago. I still haven't felt any effects from either. Does anyone know of any reports of people that are just plain immune, for lack of a better word, to kava? Could I just be doing it wrong? I'm drinking both the powder and instant un-strained so I wouldn't think so.

With all of that being said, I am excited to be a part of this community (and hopefully contributing part in the future). Thanks for any and all replies.

kavadude

❦ॐ tanuki tamer