What's new

Member Soapbox I'm new and looking for advice

Mark B

Hello all, I'm new to Kava and looking for some pointers. So far I have been steeping the kava in hot water and straining and adding honey for flavor.....it's this ok? And I read other posts on this page stating it can take a little bit to notice effects....I'm hoping this will help me with anxiety problems so I can steer away from prescriptions. I'm curious if anyone here has had a large amount of success with this and want to know if it will make it to where I'm incoherent and loopy...cause that's what I'm hoping to avoid.

kavadude

❦ॐ tanuki tamer
Well, adding honey is fine. Steeping won't do anything, you have to knead it in the strainer for 5-10 minutes in order to mix the kavalactones. What kind of kava are you using?

Kava won't make you incoherent and loopy...however large doses of kava will probably make you not want to do much of anything. It's pretty unlikely that you'll take too large of a dose by accident.

Enjoy

Mark B

Well, adding honey is fine. Steeping won't do anything, you have to knead it in the strainer for 5-10 minutes in order to mix the kavalactones. What kind of kava are you using?

Kava won't make you incoherent and loopy...however large doses of kava will probably make you not want to do much of anything. It's pretty unlikely that you'll take too large of a dose by accident.

Enjoy
When you say kneading in a strainer what exactly do you mean....I'm just trying to make sure I use it right.....I'm not sure what kind it is.....I got off Amazon (probably not the best place to get it....but I figured for a starter it should be fine)

KMman

Kava Curious